Forest Obstacles – A Terrain Review

I recently bought a set of fantasy forest obstacles by Plast Craft Games for my game board. Here’s what they look like.

I have been sometimes adding a piece of scenery here and there to my collection of terrain for tabletop gaming. Sometimes its nice to build something from scratch, sometimes its nice to pick up something pre-made and work with that. If nothing else you might get some good ideas.

A while back I picked up two sets of terrain pieces by Plast Craft Games – the ones presented here are all from this set (LINK). These were all fantasy forest themed, but considering that my other 28-ish mm games are Warhammer 40k and Malifaux, it’s all very usable still. (Especially when my Malifaux crew is Marcus.) I found them browsing around at an affordable 6 € each.

These guys use foamed PVC, I believe. What this translates to is a rather hard piece of terrain, and just from the feel of them I think they will hold up nicely even during rough use. Interestingly, the bottom which I think translates to the top drying surface was very glossy, almost glazed. Here was some bubbles and although they wouldn’t be visible they would have the pieces standing tilted (a few mm) on a completely flat surface. For experiment I tried to cut these with a cutter, even with a very sharp tool promising a sturdy piece of terrain.

So far the brush on primer has kept on well, and while bottom was very clean the actual sculpted surfaces were rough enough to hold paint. Again, this gives some sturdiness even for regular handling.

In terms of sculpting they are both very simple pieces. And, with my proficiency in sculpting I am certain I would be able to make similar pieces if I would try. But again, I paid only 6 euros for these, and it would take a many hours for me to produce one of these.

These actually provide a solid start for one trying to sculpt their own terrain (which is a very forgiving start I think, as you don’t want the terrain to overshine your minis). You have good examples of sculpted wood, rock and organics – i.e. leaves and moss. The stone is a textbook hard surface amde with sharp cuts, while the organic materials are soft and smooth. For one looking to try this, they are a good place for ideas.

This translates to nice and affordable, at reasonable quality for the price, terrain pieces to spice up your board without taking too much attention. If, when looking around for something else, I wouldn’t shy away from something from this company.

3 responses to “Forest Obstacles – A Terrain Review

  1. Great work on these. They look very effective and just as importantly – like they wouldn’t be painful to get finished. Where did you purchase yours from? Their shipping direct from Spain is rather more than I’d be willing to entertain.

Leave a Reply

