XLV – BUGS AND ROCKS

Between restarting a grimdark journey in a quest to uproot dark heresy, hasting to tie up the final ends of a shorter research project, as well as the the final steps of my degree, there has been little time to miniatures. A few games have been played, one of which saw the Skaven reawaken, if ever so slightly (a BatRep is in making). What little time left for painting has been allocated to work on the second month of the Escalation League (more of that soon).

One of the games I played last month was actually a game for the Escalation league, and involved my Dark Angles (sic) facing the Bugging Bogey Bugs. This was the first game the Nid player had played 40k on my table here at home. Already before he was complaining and complaining about the lack of terrain behind which entirely hiding his biggest bugs was possible. And this was basically only after reading the BatRep of the Eldar-Dark Angels game played. First hand observations of my terrain collection and explanations of it did not help. No his bugs would die, he told me. Even after thoroughly stomping my Ravenwing he complained. Alright, the loss was partly because of a bad move I did early on, and partly because some botched dice rolls from my side. But still, what am I supposed to do?! Have so much terrain that my Dark Angels never can get line of sight to his buggers? Make a rock with a silhouette just like his Tervigon – that can be moved if a tyranid is standing in base contact with it? Perhaps let him get the first turn and start 2″ away from my lines? What a git!

No, knowing the loudness and terrible illogical mind of this poor man (did I mention he plays those filthy druchii as well?!) I knew there was only one solution. I had to make a large line of sight blocker for him to cowardly hide behind with his so fragile little bugsies. Perhaps he would be silent then?!!

The opportunity for this came to me last weekend after I had redone the insulation on a small play-cabin at my parents’ using a foamboard like material. Adding pieces of this on top of each other, with a glue gun, would give nice pile of stones that would look lovely fantastical and cartoony.

DSC_0716

DSC_0719

After roughening up the corners of the would-be-rock, using sharp and hard lines and angles to give them a hard heavy impression, I glued them together and added patches of sand on the horisontal surfaces. Then the only thing left to do was the paint job, using the same colours I used on the game board. But of course I could not leave them “just” grey. This was the perfect opportunity to add some orkiness, a background story and some burn-factor for the Bug-man.

DSC_0723

DSC_0726

I added typickal orky checkers, small near-invisible ghostly faces and a name “Bugses Rock”. On the rock pillar I added ork glyphs that actually adds up to a story:

“The rocks are a place of great legend among the local ork kultur. It is said to have been inhabited by vicious spirits that occasionally manifested themselves as bug-like creatures (some sort of tyranids, or just a species of local fauna?) At times it was a very, very dangerous place and the local ‘umies shunned it as much as they could. Then the orks came and many battles were fought by the great clans of the area against the unsettling inhabitants (with suggestions of a daemonic character of sorts). In the end an experienced tribe (with hordes of nobs) led by a cunning warboss, defeated them despite their use of underhand, dishonourable tactics.”

The question is, will they be gone forever. Hmm. That almost sounds like a couple of scenarios waiting to be played!

DSC_0737
DSC_0738

DSC_0742

(The Nids player really is not such a bad grod in the end, a bit of a git maybe, but of a mostly good sort. But he *did* complain a bit much about the lack of large line of sight blockers. Too some extent he was right, but I still maintain my standpoint that it was a bit exaggurated. 😉 )

2 responses to “XLV – BUGS AND ROCKS

Leave a Reply

