XVII – Warpstone

A piece of terrain I made about two years ago while working at the University workshop followed me home one day. I thought I would share it with you!

Lacking objective markers and oddball terrain I decided to do something that would fit very well as both. With some inspiration from Skaven – warpstone, and some from the Rogue Trader RPG sessions we recently had had – running around in a crystal maze of some sort, I decided to cut up some left over Plexiglas (Poly(methyl methacrylate) to look like crystal shards. I figured paint would not stick to the glassy surface so I sanded the surfaces. I also cut up a thin circle of plasticard as a base. The Plexiglas shards were superglued to the base, along with some sand. I used washes to give the shards a tint, or super-thinned paints.

The result is this:

warpstone warpstone2

 

I also have finished painting my Vermin Lord, I got from a mate. This had been staring at me for about six months so it was nice to get it done. Now I just have to find the time to field it.

DSCF2807 DSCF2808 DSCF2809 DSCF2810

I’m quite happy with the Doomglaive blade.

2 responses to “XVII – Warpstone

  1. Nice work not only on the Doomglaive, but the whole Vermin Lord. The scenery looks pretty cool as well, but I’m loving the VL much more. I have one of those suckers in a box somewhere, and I’m looking forward to the day I pull my Skaven out and start working my way through them! Great job!

    • Thank you! I hope I’ll get to field him soon enough. Love the fluff, but I find it hard to fit him in as most of the time I prefer a Grey Seer on a Bell. Good luck with your Skaven!

Leave a Reply

